16
Oct
08

Rapunzel, rapunzel, let down your long hair…

I’m sick of my hair. Seriously. Girls often feel it and comment on how soft and silky it is, but let me tell you, you do not want my hair. It’s extremely fine, and extremely dense, but wholly impossible to style. Akin to Tim’s post on the LoadingReadyRun forums, I’ve gone most of my life getting 10$ Caesar cuts from a local barber. They’re not the most stylish cuts, but they’re short, low maintenance, and can be styled if neccessary. I’ve been wanting to get a little more adventurous with my hair though lately, so I went and hot a pricey cut from a stylist, along with some product (structuring lotion and styling paste) and made an attempt at styling. I dunno, maybe I’m stylistically inept, but I cannot make it do anything I’m happy with. If I fauxhawk it, it ends up flopping over to one side or pulling a tintin, and if I style it down then I end up with the same Caesar I could have gotten for 12$. Suggestions, anyone?

6 Responses to “Rapunzel, rapunzel, let down your long hair…”


  1. October 16, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Ill see if i can show you some things when im in town this weekend. 🙂

  2. 2 Tim
    October 16, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    My hair is like yours: densely populating my scalp, but very fine. It’s genetic though. My mom gives me the wave and density, and my dad gives me the fine strands. I decided to see what It would look like if I grew it longer, and at one point, about when it hit my lower neck, it went from waves and feathers to pencil straight. I actually looked like my mom from when my parents first met. So now I keep it medium length and it waves and shags up and all, and the only times I hate the way my hair acts is when it’s humid, cuz it turns into Cthulhu and ravages the countryside.

  3. 3 Tim
    October 16, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    Also, if it’s flopping over, you may be using too much or too little product.

  4. October 17, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Check out that hairstyle (never mind the goatee). THIS is the easiest hairstyle to deal with. My hair’s similar to yours (or at least was before I started heavily balding!). This is by far the best hairstyle… Totally wash and wear.

  5. 5 allison
    October 17, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    real men don’t style their hair
    wear a hat

  6. 6 Corax
    November 3, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    you should try using hair spray, its much stronger than any gel and doesnt weigh your hair down (wich causes droopage)


Leave a Reply

