15
Sep
08

Sleep is for the week

I cannot stop yawning.  At all.  I’ve been at work since 8:30 this morning, and been fine all day, but sddenly it’s 3PM and I feel like I’ve been up for days.  I’ve petitioned my manager for a hammock under my desk and a mandated daily naptime before, but so far I haven’t seen anything come of it.

To be fair, I didn’t sleep very well last night, I had fallen asleep during the evening waiting for my laundry to dry, and had a solid nap.  So there’s little doubt it was that, coupled with some things that have been weighing heavily on my mind of late, which kept me up half the night.   i don’t think that’s why I’m tired though, it happens like clockwork, 3pm every day, I’m ready to keel over and die. 

It probably has something to do with blood sugar, or the timing of my lunch break, or some such thing, I dunno.  Regardless, I’m going to get a coffee.

4 Responses to “Sleep is for the week”


  1. 1 lisa
    September 15, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    It’s your biological clock. Most people become extremely sleepy in the early afternoon. For me, it happens at 1pm. I strangely enough just learned about this last week for a sleep class I’m taking.

  2. 2 Tim
    September 16, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Yup, I too suffer from the biological clock thing at a similar time. Unfortunately, I also suffer from it during my first classes on Tuesdays and thursdays, because my Speech Acoustics class is reeeeeally boring, and its at 10am.

  3. 3 Michiel
    September 22, 2008 at 1:17 am

    Try having some soup between 3 and 4, that should get you back on your feet and is easy to prepare. With just coffee you might make it through to 5pm, but I bet you’re dead tired when you get home.

  4. 4 LS
    September 22, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Am I the only one who REALLY wants to take a sleep class now?

    I kick ass at sleeping. That would bump up my GPA.


Leave a Reply

