07
Aug
08

Running wild…

Kathleen was in town the other day, and looking great! She founded the 60 days of salad that graham and I were on earlier in the summer and she just kept going with it. Then started hitting the gym. Then running. It wasn’t long before I came to realize that I was going to have to follow suit if I was going to meet my weight goal, because my weight loss had hit a wall about 20 pounds above where I wanted to be. On Sunday she ran 5k. I ran 6. Monday she runs 6.5. This tweaks my competitive spirit, and not one to lose to a girl in a dick-waving contest, I do what my masculinity tells me to and take things way too far. Monday I run 12.5. Tuesday, I can barely walk, and stairs are my arch nemesis. Wednesday I’m back at it, 10k, including king George terrace, one of the nastiest hills in victoria. Today it was an 11.5k run to uvic and back… Via Richmond rd. To non-Victorians, this means I essentially had to run up Mt. Tolmie twice. And that’s just to get to uvic. About the time I got there I was swearing at myself for thinking it was a good idea, and I began womdering how I was going to get home. I still had 5k to go. But, as a man, I had to suck it up and carry on. Men may do stupid shit, but real men see it through to the end. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to sooth my tired legs with a hot, lavender scented, bath.

Here’s my route.

2 Responses to “Running wild…”


  1. 1 Frozengale
    August 9, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Lol, don’t over do it. I was over did it in a Gym class and I got to spend the rest of the day having myself analyzed at the hospital to make sure I didn’t do permanent damage to myself. But Kudos for beating a girl in a dick-waving contest.

  2. 2 Tim
    August 14, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Well, congrats Matt, you are making me seem like a lazy ass.

    Bastard.


Leave a Reply

