06
Aug
08

Bound to continue…

Just after 8:30 am yesterday, I began my new position at work. I’ve been granted a posting as a User Analyst I and I was quite excited about it. But being that I work for a large corporation I fogued that none of my data and system access requests would have been approved yet, even though they’d been submitted a week prior. I was right. I showed up and was handed a binder with a 300 page document inside. I was then told that only one small 40 page segment was relevent, and that I should read it. Hopefully my access would be granted by the afternoon. Well, I finished reading by 10:30, still no access. I read it again. Still no access. I read the entire binder. Still no access. I spent 7 hours re-reading the same document. By the end of the day, my access was still not approved. This morning, I still don’t have my access, so I was given another document to read and told to compare it to what I read yesterday. That binder is rapidly becoming my enemy.

4 Responses to “Bound to continue…”


  1. 1 Allen!
    August 6, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Oh Matt, I do so love reading your blog.

  2. 2 gobobgo
    August 6, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I remember getting those manuals.. So much fun.. Sad to hear that you didn’t get videos to watch too.. I always loved watching “How to act in XYZ situation” videos.. 🙂

    PS. What handshake did you use?

    Bobby

  3. August 6, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Good thing Optimus Prime is there to save you from an Office Space event…

  4. 4 Sasha
    August 6, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    That sucks. Hopefully it goes through before tomorrow?

    Also.. Oooo, what did Matt have at Starbucks?


Leave a Reply

