02
Aug
08

You dont win friends with salad

So I just had a bizarre experience at Subway. I went in and ordered a roast chicken salad (which admittedly drew an odd look from the servers to begin with), my typical order these days. The guy began preparing it by throwing one handful of lettuce in the bowl, so I asked if I could have more. He Responded,

“I’ll put more on in a sec, what other vegetables would you like?”

“Oh, ok, uhh, onions, green peppers, and cucumbers.”

“Alright, salt & pepper?”

“Yes, Please.”

“And dressings?”

“I’ll take ranch, but could I get that extra lettuce now? Like, no- before the dressing?”

BEFORE the dressing?” pause, “Ok…”

And then proceeded to act for the rest of the transaction like I had asked for my salad to be dressed with rancid clams.  Seriously, what the fuck? When did asking to have dressing “on” your salad, rather than “in” your salad become unusual? Isn’t dressing normally a topping?

I come to the realization more and more every day that I simply do not get people at all. Not one bit.

photo

5 Responses to “You dont win friends with salad”


  1. 1 Frozengale
    August 2, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Matt…are you seriously expecting people in the Fast Food industry to be intelligent?

  2. 2 corncob
    August 3, 2008 at 3:36 am

    I thought thats what “dressing” ment, puting stuff on the outside.

  3. 3 Cake
    August 3, 2008 at 6:40 am

    I took you guys advice and am going to do the salad thing for lunch as well. I can see you guys are losing weight doing it. I’ve lost 20 pounds in the last month with this, in addition to exercise. Anyways, I digress. I have noticed that people treat you weird when you get a salad.

  4. 4 James
    August 3, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Matt stop expecting much from the fast food service industry. They are lazy and hate their job. You wanna know how to avoid this situation. Go the grocery store and buy lettuce and veggies for yourself, you will spend the same amount of money and be able to make 4 to 5 salads for the same price!

  5. 5 Tim
    August 3, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Sadly, working in the retail industry holds little more encouragement, except the idiots are on the other side of the counter and YOU are the one taking orders. But anyway, how’s the 60 MORE Days of Salad going this time?


Leave a Reply

